Monday, 13 July 2015

Nikhil Advani and Simi Garewal join as jury members for Indian Film Festival of Melbourne

The festival in its fourth year announces the jury and the award nominees for 2015
For the 4th consecutive year, The Indian Film Festival of Melbourne that celebrates Indian cinema internationally is all set to take place in Melbourne this August. With the core theme of the festival being equality this time around, the festival is endorsed by Bollywood’s favorite and the lovely Vidya Balan. The festival believes in bringing forth both independent Indian films and blockbuster films to the audience of Australia thus giving Indian films a global platform.

Judging great films like these are an esteemed panel of jury members including Nikhil Advani- producer, director and screenwriter who is best known for his movies like Kal Ho Na Ho and D Day, popular Indian film critique Rajeev Masand and widely known yesteryear actress and TV Anchor Simi Garewal. While on the global front, the jury also includes popular Australian director of The Water Diviner- Andrew Anastasios and Jill Billock who is an award winning Australian film editor. With a unique jury as such, the selection process is based on a much wider and versatile perspective.

 Quote from Nikhil Advani,  I am delighted to be a part of the International Jury for the second edition of Indian Film Festival of Melbourne Awards.. I have been a supporter of this festival right from its inception days.. I love this years theme of Equality . The fact that they have – ‘supported and advocated to embrace the diversity than defines us all makes it even more special to me.. i look forward to celebrating our cinema in Melbourne next month”

These very jury members have had the most difficult task to shortlist nomines for this years awards ceremony. After much speculation, here is the list of the final shortlisted nominees across categories:

* Best Actor 
Nawazzuddin in Haraamkhor
Shahid Kapur in Haider 
Irrfan Khan in Piku
Suraj Sharma in Umrika

* Best Actress 
Deepika in Piku 
Anushka in NH 10
Kalki in Margarita with a Straw
Kangana for Tanu weds Manu returns
Bhumi for Dum lagake Haisha

* Best Indie film 
Kakka Muthai ( Crow’s Eggs )

* Best Director 
Raju Hirani for PK
Vishal Bharadwaj for Haider
Sharat Katariya for Dum Lagake Haisha 
Chaitanya Tamhane for Court
Shonali Bose for MWAS

* Best Film 
Dum Lagake Haisha
Margarita with a straw

With an aim of acknowledging these talented people and their contribution to the Indian film industry, The Indian Film Festival of Melbourne has and always will remain a joyous event celebrating Indian talent overseas.

No comments:

Post a Comment